“What Can I Order?”

Standard

My husband and I have lots of opportunity to go to lunch and dinner and to invite others out to eat.

Since, I notice patterns of behavior, I have over the years noticed that when we invite people out to eat and agree that we will pay for the meal there are certain questions and reactions that occur by the invitees. When we arrive at the agreed upon restaurant these questions and behavioral patterns occur.

The behaviors are that all of the invitees take the menu and then questioning or reactions begin. The invitees seem to follow three patterns of questions or reactions. The questions are:

  1. An invitee takes the menu and then asks, “What Can I Order?”
  2. An invitee takes the menu and immediately searches out the most expensive items on the menu and says, “I’ll Have The…. (most expensive meal item)”
  3. An invitee takes the menu and asks, “Have you eaten here before? … What’s good on the Menu?”

I wondered what those questions or reactions meant. So, no better place to get questions of life answered then the Bible. Let’s take a look at “What Can I Order?”

 

Theme: “What Can I Order?”

Read Scripture: Luke 22:14-23 NIV

14 When the hour came, Jesus and his apostles reclined at the table. 15 And he said to them, “I have eagerly desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer. 16 For I tell you, I will not eat it again until it finds fulfillment in the kingdom of God.”17 After taking the cup, he gave thanks and said, “Take this and divide it among you. 18 For I tell you I will not drink again from the fruit of the vine until the kingdom of God comes.”19 And he took bread, gave thanks and broke it, and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body given for you; do this in remembrance of me.” 20 In the same way, after the supper he took the cup, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood, which is poured out for you. 21 But the hand of him who is going to betray me is with mine on the table. 22 The Son of Man will go as it has been decreed. But woe to that man who betrays him!”23 They began to question among themselves which of them it might be who would do this.”

 

If we think about the meal invitations I mentioned in reference and comparison to “An Invitation to God’s Great Banquet” and the “Last Supper” there is comparisons that can be made.

Prior to eating at the “Last Supper” Jesus took the opportunity to teach the Disciples about the manifestation or the outward expression of a humble heart.  Jesus was telling the Disciples that they were too proud.  They needed to humble themselves if they ever wanted to end up at the resurrection of the righteous enjoying God’s Great Banquet”.

So, the patterns I observed in the invitee three responses to reviewing the meal menu seem to infer the motives of the invitee’s heart. Let’s ponder the following:

#1 Invitee question scenario: An invitee takes the menu and then asks, “What Can I Order?”

What is inferred from the invitee question: “I am thankful for the invitation and for your graciousness in paying, so I don’t want to go over your budget – “HUMILITY””

#2 Invitee question scenario: An invitee takes the menu and immediately searches out the most expensive items on the menu and says, “I’ll Have The…. (most expensive meal item)”

What is inferred from the invitee behavior: “I got over on you because you are paying and not me… anyway you shouldn’t have agreed to pay if you couldn’t afford it. Only the best of everything for me –“PRIDE – the predecessor of GREED””

#3 Invitee question scenario: An invitee takes the menu and asks, “Have you eaten here before? … What’s good on the Menu?”

What is inferred from the invitee question: “I’m honored at the invitation. I trust your leadership and am willing to follow your wisdom – “RESPECT and HONOR””

What question will you ask the Host -Jesus?; How will you behave? Something to think about, when you reach the “Agapao – Love Feast; the Banquet Feast in Heaven”.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

